Here we go again!

By MI

Fontaine Médicis + Annie Ernaux!

First off, I'm on top of the moon today because Annie Ernaux won the Nobel Prize in literature! She's one of my favourite authors. I've read, taught and admired her for years. In 2014 when two colleagues and I hosted the "Women in French" conference with the theme of "Women and Memory", we relied heavily on her work and used this quotation (which I still love) in our "call for papers": « Comme le désir sexuel, la mémoire ne s’arrête jamais. Elle apparie les morts aux vivants, les êtres réels aux imaginaires, le rêve à l’histoire. » (Annie Ernaux, Les Années, 15.) My social media has been buzzing with the news and I am absolutely thrilled!


I was a few hours late in learning about it because we had a lovely time out this afternoon with J and two friends he went to school with 40 years ago at Pearson College, their spouses and friends. (The three friends are pictured here.) The weather was incredible and we walked through the jardin du Luxembourg and then to some of our other favourite places in the 5th. Just a banner day all around!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.