Once and future

My camera and I have been in a bit of a sullen standoff for the last few weeks. I've arranged a day out for us tomorrow, so I hope that helps our communication.

After seven weeks I am just starting (I think) to be useful at work. It's an awfully long lead time, not helped by having had to do masses of not very useful 'training', some of it tediously online and much of it led by people who have not been trained in how to train.

Why are teaching skills so desperately undervalued? It is not enough to know stuff. You have to understand how learning happens and know know how to communicate things in different ways. You have to be able to sit in the shoes of the learners at the same time as dancing on your toes. Complacent 'training' is an insult.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.