freshphoto:a moment a day

By freshphoto

Let's get this party started

May Day. Another tricky day for me when it came to choosing which image to post. So far, all my pictures have been encountered en route, without particularly detouring especially to take them, a concept I quite like - the word blip sort of suggests that it's not a manufactured product but more of an incident, an aside in one's day. Of course, my rabbit hole didn't just happen, but it was the first thing that came into my head when I woke up that day, so it sort of counts. I guess an analogy for my approach to date would be "based on actual events".

My jogging route is always the same, although the time of day varies. I love that this lets me notice new things - apart from anything else it makes me realise just how much there is to notice about the same few places. It also lets me enjoy seeing how things change and evolve. There's something very important about getting to know a patch of the Earth. The only thing is, I don't run toting my hefty camera - partly because the puritan in me wants to do one thing at a time properly, and partly because it would just be too awkward. So I see things that I can't "click".

The great English observer of nature Gilbert White wrote in vivid detail about the parish of Selborne over 200 years ago, and it's still worth reading today. Some of the spirit of my blip is inspired by my own desire to notice 'little things'.

Today the weather was beautiful, and I got a couple of lovely chocolate-box shots of flowers and blue skies, but they seem rather generic, and I wanted to include this little sign instead. It's the first time I've actually gone back to something I saw while running, and I think it's my antidote to all the gaudy propaganda that was festooning the lampposts in the run-up to the elections.

I've moved around so much recently I've fallen off the electoral roll, but if I could vote, this is the sort of party that would get my support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.