RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Gutted, Apprehensive...

Site meeting this morning. It turns out that the plaster removal I did over the weekend has not helped the builders and may well have hindered them. The director of the building firm explicitly told me to drop the plaster into the void below floor level but the site manager tells me they have had to work with unmanageable amounts of dust and that the waste should have been removed from the house. And apparently I removed some plaster they were planning to cover over which presents them with more problems and me with reduced soundproofing. I thought I was doing the right thing. I am gutted and have promised the site manager not to do more next weekend as I'd planned.

Meanwhile, the director of the building firm landed in Australia today to scout out homes and schools before he and his family emigrate in early December. He plans to manage things long distance. Thankfully a new local director has been appointed and I met him today - but he is new to the firm and is joining my build part-way through. He appeared confident, but don't we all try to seem that on our first day in a new job? I am apprehensive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.