madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

All Happening!

Today a woman who lives on from the church was hosting a pop up cafe  in aid of an Orphanage in Kenya. She came to know the woman who started it and it's now an established charity called Footprints Family. Apparently she was distraught seeing babies being cared for by 4year olds on the streets and decided to do something about it. I read today on Facebook she raised £251.19! 
As I walked up towards the church I encountered men with cameras and a big fluffy microphone coming out of the churchyard and going into the  field where the cow I blipped had been! There was a lady with a dog and a man with a drone so I asked what was going on. Apparently they are doing another archeological dig where a Roman Fort from the 1st C AD was discovered in 2007. Only the third of its kind discovered in Cornwall! 
I saw a post in the eve on Facebook where the presenter, Hugh Dennis and the crew were in the local pub when the Quiz Night was being held. Hugh briefly spoke to the gathered locals about the dig, asking for volunteers to help in the dig! He then hosted the Historic section of the quiz! Hugh Dennis is a well known comedian in the Uk and has also starred in various sitcoms and Mock The Week - a satirical news quiz! 
I had also read on Facebook about the fact the high street in Calstock would be closed to traffic next week as it is being used for the filming of Beyond Paradise with Kris Marshall, a spinoff from the series Death In Paradise! 
It all started with our now resident Dawn French and the series Delicious which was filmed in and around Calstock in 2016!!! Calstock is the place to be filmed it seems!!!
Anyway, back to the pop up cafe! Oscar was very well behaved with the number of people, the food and the children. He was delighted to see Two familiar people - Nellie who was helping in the kitchen, and the Neighbour of Dawn French who I sat with! I was happily chatting and sharing my bacon bap ( yes I know, another bacon bap!)with Oscar when the horses in the field next to the house came over to the fence - well Oscar got very excited and nearly pulled me off my chair! I decided it was time to leave! It took him quite a while until he calmed down as we headed back into the village, passing the wetlands, these lovely tomatoes being sold by the greenhouses, and finally this washing line! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.