CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Behind the Big Top of the circus

I needed to drive up to the farm shop near Bisley, a journey of about three miles up to the top of the Cotswold hills, to check on sales of cards. At the top of thew steep slope out of town thew road levels and the farmland begins. Fennell’s Farm lies on the north side of the road opposite the massive Lypiatt Estate, and beyond it the land drops steeply down again into the Slad Valley.

The farm was purchased about five years ago by Nell Gifford, the founder and owner of the wonderful Gifford’s Circus as their permanent home and base from which they would venture out every spring and summer touring the south and midland regions of England. Helena and I went to some oi their earliest shows this summer at the same site, after which they went on the road. They finish their season with a week of performances back at Fennell’s Farm before they close down for winter and plan the next years shows.

I knew that their final performance had just finished so I pulled over at the side of the road to take a few pictures of the encampment. As I’m back blipping a few days later, I know that the Big Top came down the next day and the site began to clear. The performers probably would stay a few more days before returning home, many of them to distant countries. I thought I’d record the scene as I find it's a delightful reminder of former times, when such circuses were much more common. I’ve added an extra of some of their other support vehicles.

Here is a blip of our last visit to Gifford's Circus in April 2022, with a few extra pictures of some of the performers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.