CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The farmyard chooks at the farm shop

I had to return to the Stancombe Beech farm shop to replace the sold stock of cards. I had a good chat with Keith, one of the the three brothers and sisters who own the farm, over a cup of tea mid-morning. He looks after the honey production which is a very important part of their business. They have countless hives spread widely around the neighbouring counties.

Keith's son started keeping unusual breeds of chooks many years ago and they are in this large caged area beside the farmyard. Joe has left home  to join the RAF, married and has children so no longer looks after them. I think Keith might now have added duties!

I've added an extra of the lovely (mostly) black feathered bird, which is hard to photograph well without getting up close. I love these colours.

Customers of the shop are given free bags of seeds for their children to feed to the chooks through the fence. I think these are waiting patiently, and they could see I was too big!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.