Ahem!

I didn't know until fairly recently that birds other than owls produce pellets. My sisters and I used to love pulling apart the owl pellets that we found in the soil sterilising shed when we were children. 

I blipped a robin and its pellet in 2016 and have seen blackbirds regurgitating pellets of indigestible material. This morning I was standing near the barn where my grandfather, who I never met, and my father as a baby were photographed when they lived at the farm. I was joined by this robin. I had the camera trained on it when it coughed up a pellet and in the next shot below it the pellet can be seen in its beak.

I've included a shot of an autumn oak leaf which was catching the light where it had lodged in a hogweed seedhead. I didn't know until I looked at the shot on screen that I'd also captured a bug.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.