No 25 leaves Tenterden with the Pullman

A second glorious day with wall to wall sunshine while I was at Tenterden signalbox overseeing departures and arrivals at the station including the prestigious Wealden Pullman Sunday Lunch Dining Train under the control two female crew and a third man.

We had a veteran car rally at the station this weekend so I’ve included a shot of some of the vehicles on display in extras along with a view from the signalbox which I think I must have blipped in the past. (Edit: I had, in September 2019, but not as good as today’s)

Outside the signalbox several couples who arrived in Austin cars set up a picnic on tables complete with china cups, candelabras and a teapot with a cosy on it. A proper picnic ensued ending with a Victoria sponge and scones. I understand some sparkling wines may have been enjoyed too. Everyone was in costume too, the ladies resplendently attired in 1940s and 50s dresses with lovely hats and super hairstyles. I was offered, and of course accepted, some scones to have with my signalman’s tea.

Apart from a short block failure, which was soon rectified by the Signalling Manager who happened to be on site, the day passed relatively uneventfully which is all you can ask for. Some smart working by train crews, controller and signalmen meant we ended the day on time.

Pleased to report that, apart from a slight soreness where the needles went in, I’ve had no side effects from yesterday’s double injection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.