Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Urban disgrace

There is a large area of housing commission not far from me.  Every time I have been robbed the police point down the road to it and say that's where the thieves come from and give me a lecture on home security.  It's an utter disgrace that some parts have been left to rot and ruin and our government needs to do more to improve the housing.  So this blip is in one of the main streets where the housing is.   I am ashamed that we let people live in areas that are run down like this, we need to do better and no wonder thieving may seem a solution for people in need.  I am hoping that this rubbish is going to be collected by the council, there were huge amounts of it on the nature strip.

Rant over and thanks for listening.  In other news, Maggy and I visited the nursing home today.   She did so well.  There is a resident there who is very aggressive and lashes out vocally and physically to staff and residents.  She is in a wing on her own now.  I was told not to get too close to her as she was in a "bad mood" but Maggy and I went in, not one harsh word was spoken, we had a good conversation with the resident and meanwhile the OT who comes around with me was standing well away and the resident's personal nurse had a look of wonder on his face.  The resident was a bit rough with Maggy though giving her a huge bear hug at first but calmed down and then gave her more normal pats.  I don't think she realised how this affects dogs, she was just being affectionate but Maggy looked a bit panic stricken but recovered really quickly and I kept telling her she was a good girl.  It's great to see immediate effects with Maggy, I just have to work out how to make sure in future visits the resident doesn't overdo the bear hugs again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.