Living my dream

By Mima

Six gulls

I’m still in catch-up mode with Blips. Life diverted me for a few days and it was startling how quickly I fell behind.

As I type today there are a couple of loaves baking and filling the kitchen with the best of aromas. I’ve used whey from cheese-making again in the bread, and it adds something extra to the smell. As well as to the taste.

Bean and I were in town earlier, where amongst other things we had a walk at Friendly Bay. I was mesmerised by the light on the water.

During a catch up with my friend A we had an interesting discussion about inter-generational relationships. She feels very strongly that she is characterised as a Boomer and feels that the 20-somethings she recently spent some time with regard her as an ancient and slightly irrelevant person. She is hurt by their dismissal of her experience and opinions.

I have never identified myself as any particular generation (although I was born at the end of the baby-boom years) and all the 20- and 30-somethings I’ve met have treated me with open friendly equality.

It is fascinating that A and I have had such very different experiences and feelings about generations.

When I was in my 20s my parents were in their 60s and somehow I didn’t think of them as terribly old. That label was attached to my grandparents who were in their 90s.

A’s childhood was very different: she was brought up by her grandmother, who she didn’t ever consider was ‘old’. Maybe we have different perspectives as a result.

Bean doesn’t care how old people are, just as long as you love her. We could all take a leaf out of her book (again).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.