a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Sipping from the cup

Tiny Tuesday: Sipping from the cup

The promised ground frost duly arrived this morning, but the early morning sunshine soon warmed things up and a rather pleasant day has followed.

I somehow managed to exhaust the batteries in my macro flash system without having spares in stock.  Fortunately Amazon have just delivered more but I ended up needing to use a telephoto lens for my Tiny Tuesday shot of this carder bee enjoying the verbena.  What a wonderfully long tongue they have :-) 

While I'm on the subject of Tiny Tuesday,  I just wanted to say thanks to Jill (JDO) for hosting the challenge this month.

While I was out in the garden looking for insects my attention was drawn to the sky where 3 buzzards were mewing and wheeling in the thermals.  They were too far away for a shot, but as I was looking up I noticed that the local corvids were going berserk chasing something on mass.  It soon became clear that it was actually a hobby hawk and I managed a couple of shots of it with the lens on the camera.  I've added one as an extra, its a heavy crop, so its not a shot I'm particularly proud off but I don't think that I've ever seen a hobby fly over the garden before now.  I really needed the 800mm lens given the distances involved, but the chase didn't take long and sure enough the hawk escaped and things pretty quickly settled back to normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.