a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The gift that keeps giving

The little pond in our garden is the gift that just keeps giving.  The newts, damselflies and dragonflies make it a lovely spot to just spend some time next to, when it's sunny.  A common darter male was sunning himself on the rocks by the waterfall earlier on, which gave me today's blip.  

I've actually focus stacked two handheld shots for this one, as the little chap was obliging still for just a couple of seconds, which allows a very slight increase in the depth of field.   I would ideally have liked him to allow me a few more so that I could get the rest of his wings and tail in focus, but he wasn't that comfortable with having me this close to him, and decided to move at this point.

We're due a grass frost tonight, so I don't expect I'm going to see too many more dragonflies (if any) this year.  It is a shame, but I shall be looking forward to that magical first sighting next year, when it happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.