a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Gi's a kiss

A female southern hawker visited the pond this afternoon, and proceeded to oviposit in lots of different spots.   Much as I admire this wonderful (but rather battered) dragon you have to admit that she has the sort of face that only a male southern hawker could love - perhaps her mate was the one I saw and blipped at the weekend.

(If you've checked back on this page and wonder where the tiny hoverfly has gone, then I'm afraid it has been relegated to the role of extra, in the light of the dragon's arrival this afternoon. )

It was pretty foggy here this morning, not quite as warm but every bit as humid.  I had initially thought that it might be worth seeking some high ground for a temperature inversion shot, but the heavy cloud cover above the fog meant that was a non-starter. 

A quick visit to the local cemetery confirmed that the stone masons didn't make a spelling mistake when adding Dad's details to his and Mum's headstone, which is a bit of a relief.  Frustratingly there wasn't much fog at all at the cemetery, so my idea of a spooky early halloween shot also fell by the wayside.  

On the subject of Dad's affairs, the probate registry also got in touch to tell me that they would now be getting around to checking the application for probate that I sent them a month ago.  What is more,  if I haven't heard from them in 16 weeks, I was at that stage allowed to chase them.  In effect that means that they anticipate taking 5 months to deal with the probate application - presuming that all is in order and that they don't want to raise any queries, if not it will take longer.  I can only assume that they are under staffed and poorly resourced like so many other aspects of our public services here in the UK nowadays.

Things seem to have settled down here at home after yesterday's medical excitement, and so I've re-booked my covid jab for tomorrow, when its due to rain and I'm like to be stuck indoors in any event. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.