No offence

I was on the first flight to leave Lisbon, heading back to Amsterdam, scene of last week’s stress, for a connection back to Africa. Schiphol was still slowwww, especially at immigration where Brits now have to join a long meandering queue. I was envious of people clutching their EU Italian and Romanian passports who zipped through the automatic gates and I prepared to seethe if I missed my connection for this reason. The security staff on duty shout ‘Europeans here’ to direct people to the automatic gates if they’re EU citizens. Whilst I can put that down to the nuances of language, I believe many Brexiteers think we have actually left the continent of Europe.

I made the connection, despite Brexiteers’ best efforts to thwart the efficiency of travel, which incidentally they don’t expect to extend to travel to their retirement villas in Spain. They really are quite absurd, aren’t they.

I was heading to South Africa as I’m going straight into meetings in Pretoria for the week. I chatted with the friendly South African woman by the window, with a free seat separating us. We agreed it is one of life’s greatest treasures to get on a plane and realise there’s a spare seat next to you. ‘Better if you have two, no offence’, she said. None taken at all doll, I concur wholeheartedly.

Albert Heijn was the scene of many a pit stop for sweet treats and baked goods when Amy, Elizabeth and I pootled around the Netherlands in 2011. Seeing the blue lettering brought back very fond memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.