TFCA

Transfrontier Conservation Area.

I feel it’s going to be a jargon-filled week, but a good week. As I work in a landscape with an important transboundary conservation area between Mozambique and Tanzania, I’m part of a wider network in the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) that supports various TFCAs in their conservation goals. This week in Pretoria government representatives from the 16 SADC member states are gathered, along with various donor and NGO hanger-oners like myself. I’ve struck up a good relationship with the TFCA focal point in Tanzania as we provide technical and financial help to deliver on the government’s goals in southern Tanzania. Tanzania is now chomping at the bit to step up the collaboration with Mozambique. I’ve known the TFCA focal point in Mozambique for longer, yet he’s more laid back, so I’m scratching my head about how we get Mozambique to match the energy.

The group is positive and the subject matter is interesting. The venue has been well chosen as a hotel with more nature around it rather than an overly corporate city place. We had the obligatory photo at the end of the day, which dished out great lakeside vibes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.