Wide Wednesday . . . Old or Aged

This is Russell St, Nelson near the port.  As you can see it is a little bit steep.  It was one of the first areas settled and by 1862 there were two dozens houses in the street plus the Native Hostelry and the Steamboat Tavern at the bottom.  There is still a mix of cottages and villas.  It is a heritage precinct so probably tearing them down and building something modern is not allowed.  I had to look up what a Native Hostelry was.  In 1842 Nelson led the way in providing somewhere for Maori to stay in town.  Three European styled cottages were built with a low boulder wall constructed to display their fresh produce which they brought to town for sale to the settlers.  From what I read the Maori could stay for free and then returned to their home areas.  I learn something everyday on blip and today it was about my own country.  Thanks Bob for keeping it wide on Wednesdays.
Andrew and I had a get together to view the MM entries.  Today it was at my house late in afternoon with nibbles and gin.  Results will be tomorrow when we get more hearts.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.