Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Obelisk

This is old as far as European settlement is concerned but hardly ancient but I think it fits Bob's theme for today.  It was built I believe in 1850 although it has been rebuilt several times as lightning seems to like it and it was damaged in the Newcastle Earthquake in 1989.   The hill that it is situated on has much more of a history in that there used to be a windmill which ground grain for the colony and like the obelisk, was used as a navigation aid.  Underneath are reservoirs which were used for water supply.  It is a  vantage point too with good views across the city.  I have blipped it before but not perhaps from this angle.  More about it here if you are interested. 

Thanks for hosting WoW Bob.

I have been running late all day today  -  I forgot a case assessment for my Aunt in the nursing home and had to rush off after they rang to see if I was coming and I also forgot a zoom meeting this afternoon and had to be texted a reminder.  Honestly if my head wasn't attached....etc...  I am going to make it an early night so I will catch up with your journals tomorrow (the diary is clear hooray) and say nighty night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.