Bridge across the Yarra

An early flight to Melbourne for tomorrow's meeting. I chose the early plane (a 777) partly because they are very comfortable, partly because the mid-afternoon flight actually ends up occupying most of the day, and partly because it was a cheaper fare.

Early arrival at my hotel in the city (in the room by 1100)afforded the opportunity for a daylight run in Melbourne. It has been a grey day here without much sight of the sun. Nevertheless, there was enough brightness to have some reflections in the Yarra when I took this photo.

I have been unable to find the name of this bridge. On a previous visit I asked some locals and got looked at as if I was a weirdo. Perhaps that's true. Perhaps Melbourne doesn't name its bridges any more. Or possibly it has no name because it's just for pedestrians. I think that the name is a secret; a bit like Dog's name in Footrot Flats.

Posting this now, and then I'll finish the agenda.

EDIT: Thanks to flying who pointed me to an entry in Wikipedia describing this bridge, named The Seafarer's Bridge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.