Blown away

Saturday morning. When I take myself somewhere different to my usual running haunts, to get a different take on the sunrise. After some indecision, I decided to drive a little bit west and then run along the North West Cycle Route beside the Northwestern Motorway. I was treated to a most glorious dawn sky. This was the first, and the most dramatic, of the photos I got. The actual sunrise (about ten minutes after this) was completely obscured by low cloud.

Another for the Saturday sunrise series

A few days ago Ceridwen asked me if we have a reversal of the predictions of morning and evening skies. On the basis of today, I would have to say that it is the same: red sky in the morning shepherd's (sailor's) warning. Worth a look in large

The downpours all morning were torrential, occasionally accompanied by strong winds. I was out briefly in the morning when the first occurred. Had gone out to get a second pair of the really comfortable new road shoes I had bought recently. Nearly washed away by the rain on one occasion. Rain like that shows why Aucklanders often don't bother with umbrellas or coats. Nothing would keep you dry. Stay inside or put up with being wet.

Off to Melbourne early tomorrow for a meeting on Monday; back at midnight Monday. Joy, oh joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.