Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A fun afternoon with fungi

Today has been rather busy again - I was up early doing some gym exercises and then after breakfast I walked Xena. After my walk I had time for a quick coffee at home before going to my weekly ladies golf clinic. Today we worked on using hybrids, which I have never used before. The coach is excellent, she is young and a very good golfer. If you have a problem she knows exactly what you must do to improve and within three shots you are already improving.

After lunch I met a friend from my camera club to photograph fungi. he came over to my local woods as we seem to have some good specimens there. Usually when I photograph fungi I have Xena with me so it is a hurried job, but today I was able to use my new LED light, my mini tripod (as a normal tripod is too tall for the low lying fungi and the mini tripod is only about 17cm tall)) and use the focus stacking feature on my camera. We were there for two hours but we both said we could have spent all day there, as once you start looking you find more and more fungi.  

These fungi were really tiny, about an inch tall and growing on a small bit of wood lying in the undergrowth. We were disturbed by walkers and their dogs a few times, but thankfully they did not walk all over the fungi we were photographing. It is sort of addictive as I could go back tomorrow and I know I will find different ones to what I saw today.

Gavin played 9 holes of golf late this afternoon with a friend and I am now joining them for a quick supper at the club. I still have ironing to catch up on but that can wait until tomorrow"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.