Another amazing day

A dull day forecast today, but I'd decided to  go up to London, so did just that. I intended to do less walking as my hip was playing up, so I took the tube from Waterloo to Monument and came out in front of that amazing structure. I intended to visit the Sky Garden, on top of the 'Walkie-Talkie' in Fenchurch St., so to save getting my map and glasses out I asked a loitering man who simply pointed over my shoulder!

I hadn't booked, so was directed to the left hand part of the queue marked WALK IN'S, which I took to be a grammatical error unless it meant something else! I had to fill in a form on the guy's iPad and was in the lift and up on the roof in about 10 minutes. It was absolutely incredible - no space or time to  tell everything here, but the most amazing collection of plants and an even more amazing view! Not far away I could see another roof garden.

I stayed up there for quite some time and had long conversations firstly with a young man from Dubai, and secondly with a woman from Brighton and her friend, who was from Tijuana in Mexico! When I finally came back down and left I thanked the woman who had sorted out my entry, saying what an amazing garden it was. I hadn't gone far when she rushed out and called to me, saying I should visit 120 Fenchurch Street - the one I had seen. So I did, and that was pretty good too! I asked the security woman about something and she took me right across the roof to point out an anti-slavery sculpture far below, and Leadenhall Market, saying I should visit them both, which I did. 

So a wonderful day was greatly enhanced by conversations with several friendly and helpful people!  My extra today is of the 'Walkie -Talkie' from down in the street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.