Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Looking inland at Magnet Bay

A gorgeous morning greeted me through our curtainless windows as I opened my eyes this morning. After a moments hesitation (only a moment) I rolled out from under the duvet and decided to head to the Southern Bays of Banks Peninsula, ahead of the forecasted southerly.

After making my way up to the top of Kinloch hill, I was presented with the usual choices; left towards Peraki or right towards Te Oka Bay rd. Right was the choice. A little further down the shingle road I was then confronted with the option to carry on toward Tumbledown and Te Oka, or veer off toward Magnet Bay. The latter it was.

After the descent to the beach, I strolled along the rocky margin, watching a big bull fur sea frollick as he fished. Overhead, caspian terns, pied shags and big black back gulls soared and dived into the azure sea behind the large southerly fed breakers. Sheep picked amongst the rocks, with a few huddling under the sandstone 'wave' that defines where the beach meets the paddock above.

After capturing 50 or so frames of this amazing seascape, I turned inland to bask in the sun. From the beach something approaching a rocky dune takes shape, its structure made from rocks thrown towards the paddocks and the immense amount of driftwood that gets jettisoned by the fierce left break.

I love the way the rocks follow the lines of the hills in this shot. The primary colours and layers of texture just seemed that little bit different from a usual coastal scene.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.