Ted3

By Ted3

lollipop

As always i dreamt up this lollipop flower idea whilst sleeping, but all was not well in reality.
So, i had been thinking of bamboo and sticky back plastic. Of course, i was in the seventies, recalling John Noakes and a baby elephant defecating in the studio. Hilarious.
I digress, we have many dahlias, this variety are tall, with many blooms. I'm sure some of you are familiar. They have particularly bright creamy orange blooms, on the plant, giving an almost lollipop appearance. 
We also have at the other end of the garden, a bush of micelmas daisy, past it's best but still a striking purple on green. I wondered how i might combine.
I immediately put on my blue peter hat and made up a list of required items. A 3-foot piece of bamboo a Dahlia, cut long and a roll of sticky back plastic.
I planned to tape the flower to the bamboo and insert into the soil .
Rebecca joins in and simply inserts flower into the now hollow bamboo before pushing into the soil. Duh! my dream bubble popped.
It was a very wet and blustery day, the micelmas daisy was saturated and had flopped forward, through weight of rain. I had intended to shoot @ 1.4 but i was compromised, i could not get enough distance between flower and michelmas.  So, i shot f4. It was a trial, i shall re- shoot on Thursday when allegedly a brighter day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.