top of the world

Well not really - Fiona and I were on the summit of White Coomb, which is at 821m, making it a Corbett and the second highest hill in Dumfries and Galloway. 

This was our third attempt at planning the walk and I was so glad that we did it today as the weather was perfect - a little breezy and chilly up on the tops, but fine and clear so that we had a fantastic view all round. The route up by the Grey Mare's Tail and Loch Skeen was wonderful.

Some fun was had avoiding the (very) boggy parts, lifting Jess over fences and wading across the Tail Burn near the end :-)

I was glad to have a nice hot shower and a drink when I got back home and am writing this with a hot water bottle on my lap! I think the tea is almost ready so once I've had that I'll be toasty again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.