Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

At the apple orchard

Are many, many pumpkins as well as many varieties of apples.   Brett had the day off so he rode with me to Hendersonville to replenish my apple supply since they had so many different kinds of apples.  And much cheaper than the grocery store!

   One of the big side lines at the orchard is pumpkins of all sizes and shapes, a corn maze, an apple cannon where you can shoot the apples (seconds or rottening) toward a target in the pond and other events on Saturdays and Sundays.  The corn maze is huge as you can see behind the pumpkins in this photo.   The place was packed with people so I sure am glad we went on a weekday as I imagine the weekend is a traffic jam.

I came home with two bags of apples...one small bag of Winecrisp which I think is a cross between a winesap and honey crisp.  A sweet, firm apple that is a little crunchy which I like.  We got to sample the apples for flavor before buying.  The second bag had a mix of Evercrisp, Shizuka, winesap and  Stayman.     All of these are also firm apples with sweet crisp flesh but they all tasted a little different.   

The apples should last us for about a month or more as we eat an apple or two a day when we have fresh apples.

Of course, I had to get a box of apple cider donuts and I got Jerry a couple of fried apple pies.   Brett had never tasted the apple cider donut and now he is a fan also.   

The fall color at the elevation at Hendersonville was not great with some areas better than other for reds and yellows.   We found a hard cider brewery for sampling alcoholic apple cider varieties.  They had made a pineapple hard cider and a blackberry as well as apple.   We both loved the Cider IPA which was not hoppy at all.  I do not like beer because of the hops but this IPA was really good.    The food was excellent also that we ate for lunch.

A good day out with my boy!  


Thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts on my 8 year blip!   Blippers are the best!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.