Ann's Cottage, 1744

I walked round the village to find something old and wide. The village goes back a thousand years or so, but I have already blipped most of the obvious things - the church, the manor house and attached cottage, the former coaching inn, the pub, the old vicarage and some of the houses and cottages. Ann's Cottage is not one of the oldest, but its plaque dates it from 1744, so it is not young. It's a listed building, like many of the older village houses, and its current occupant is our most venerable local historian, in his eighties I think and with a family rooted in the area for generations. I like its simple symmetry. Viewed from this angle, it's like a child's drawing of a house. 

I was disappointed to find all the day's photos, and worse, almost all of Tuesday's photos from France, marred by a blurry spot caused by a blob of something on the lens. It seems to have cleaned off, so I'm hoping it's just a temporary problem, but frustrating that I didn't notice it during a whole and long awaited day out. It's more obvious in some than others - here, it's only blurring the handrail and vegetation - but a lot of the photos are completely spoiled. I hope it will teach me to be less slovenly about my lenses - but I'm not very confident of it.

I expect the Wide Wednesday challenge is done and dusted by now, I'm usually too late, but I appreciate it encouraging me to go and look for something beyond the weeds in the garden to photograph. I have the whole week's photos to blip, so need to speed up my processing and decision-making, but I keep falling asleep at the computer. It's been a busy few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.