JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Recuperated

This morning was rainy, signalling the end of our long spell of warm and sunny weather. After my online yoga (and follow-up toast and marmalade) I decided I'd skip going for a walk today and try to catch up with some indoor jobs, so this is an "outside my back door" photo. The large tray of sempervivums were rescued, parched and shrivelling, from my neighbour C's garden a few weeks after his death, when I was invited to help myself to seed trays and pots. After a period of light watering followed by plenty of rain they are now green, fleshy and making babies, so it's probably time to decide what to do with them and organise some suitable containers. I've always liked sempervivums, their roundness combined with slight spikiness and the way the tiny ones cluster round the parent plants. Once I've done some more tidying and cleaning, indoor photos may be a possibility, but although I made a useful start today, it's far from finished. Instead, I made a batch of apple jelly, having prepared the fruit and dripped it through the jelly bag a few days ago: eight jars are now waiting to be labelled. I used a lot of the very small apples which could not go to be juiced, as for jelly I don't need to peel or core them, just clean, remove any damaged bits, then slice in the food processor. I then simmered them overnight in the slow cooker, which reduced them to  a suitable mush for the jelly bag. There are plenty more to follow.   

I've been trying to catch up for several days, posting everything late as more photos accumulate, so I've decided to return to the present. The past three days' blips will follow as soon as I can manage.                                     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.