Palisander

It's been another busy old day.  I was out early to walk down to Bingley to catch the bus to Shipley.  I was made aware of just how early it was when I tried to use my bus pass and the machine angrily turned red and beeped at me.  The driver pointed out I couldn't use it till after 9.30 so I had to do some ferreting in my wallet to find the change.  Then I had to walk down the bus with folks pretending to look out of the window whilst thinking I was some doddery old woman....

Once in Shipley I located St Paul's Church and, because I was too early, went in search of proper coffee.  I was on vestibule duty at the Church for one of the Palisander Recorder Quartet school workshops.  Friend Helen and I enjoyed their concert last night in Saltaire, they are a young, innovative and accomplished group, very entertaining.

Before the primary schools arrived I was instructed how to use the signal horn in case of fire and thought to myself that I would just shout loudly instead, how to reset the disabled toilet alarm and what to do if a strange man came in to use the toilets!  Apparently strange women were okay.  As the children arrived, many were in awe of the sun beaming in through the beautiful stained glass window and several mentioned it was the first time they had been in a church, so there was much excitement before Palisander appeared to play.

Their concert was perfectly adapted for small children and included several fun elements and was a huge success.  The children behaved well throughout, were in awe of the nine foot recorder and asked lots of questions at the end.

As soon as they were out of the door, I ran down into the town to catch the train to Keighley where Tony was waiting in Sainsbury's carpark, and we have driven north to stay with Jen and Pete for a catch up and a long orienteering weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.