Of Deaths Aquatic

On This Day In History
1863: H.L. Hunley sinks during tests

Quote Of The Day
"To catch the Atlantic Ocean smooth during the winter months is considerable of an undertaking and one that I never wish to undertake again."
(Captain George Dixon)

I went to the Heroes exhibition at the Hyogo Prefectural Museum Of Modern Art, with lots of ukiyo-e, tsuba and swords from the Boston Museum Of Fine Arts. This ukiyo-e depicts the ghost of Yoshihira fulfilling the prophecy he made to Nanba Tsunefusa just before Tsunefusa beheaded him. Yoshihira said to Tsunefusa, "I will come back as a thunder god and kill you."  In 1168, when Taira no Kiyomori visited the Nunobiki Falls in Kobe, accompanied by Tsunefusa, a sudden thunderstorm arose and Tsunefusa was struck dead by lightning.

The Nunobiki Falls is not far from where I work and I have been there several times. Next time I go I will remember this legend.

Thunder Child

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.