Like Fun And Money And Food And Love

On This Day In History
1981: Dare is released

Quote Of The Day
"I can't believe it; we are a load of bozos from Sheffield. We never wanted to be famous, we just wanted to make good music. When someone like Lady Gaga tells us she's a huge fan, it's actually really quite weird."
(Susan Sulley)

As far as I am concerned, Dare is still one of the greatest albums ever recorded. Just sheer perfection, and certainly The Human League at their peak. I listened to it three times over on my 22 kilometers run this morning, along with the equally perfect Dare remix album, Love And Dancing by League Unlimited Orchestra, and both are still as astonishing today as they were 41 years ago.

My top three tracks:

Things That Dreams Are Made Of

Love Action (I Believe In Love)

Do Or Die (League Unlimited Orchestra version) - those cascading tom-toms and synths at the beginning just blow me away every time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.