Philiphoto

By Philiphoto

Red Kite

flying over Harewood House.

We were at a Play Day at Harewood today with my grandchildren and their parents. It was a pretty hectic day but I took along the 10o-400 mm lens, anticipating seeing at least one red kite from the colony there.

Most shots I managed were still too high to be acceptable. This one swooped down low just as I had the camera set for a completely different subject. I just had time to zoom in a fire the shutter before the bird soared away. Hence the shutter speed being too slow at 1/500 to get a completely sharp image. I had already dialed in an extra 2/3 stop which helped to provide the underside detail but would have been better with a faster shutter speed and perhaps slightly over a stop of compensation.

Unfortunately I didn't get any more close encounters with kites today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.