Autumn Chaffinch

Madeira is an island for walking, but right now any long levada walks are beyond me, so I’m delighted that we find a short but delightful version. 

Vereda dos Balcoes is an almost completely flat 1.5km walk that follows the levada of Serra do Faial, ending up on a spectacular ‘balcony’ looking out onto the high peaks of the Central Mountain Chain and the valley of the Ribeira da Metade.

Apparently there’s a chance of seeing firecrests here, but not today. There are, however, plenty of Madeiran Chaffinches, perching on the trees amongst the sparse but vibrant autumnal foilage. Clearly, they are used to being hand-fed here, with birdseed left for visitors to use. While others hopefully hold out hands, palms filled with grains, most are just ignored. G, however, clearly has the gift, and birds fly down to perch and feed from his outstretched hand, remaining happily for several minutes. Afterwards I try, and to my amazement, I’m almost as successful - though there’s no photographic evidence as G forgets to take any shots of me! But having those tiny bird feet perching on my hand and seeing those little eyes full of trust is a magical experience I’ll always remember. 

My main shows little chaffinch amongst the leaves, with a wider view in extras, together with G feeding the birds. 

Still back-blipping - I’m hoping I’ll eventually catch up! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.