freshphoto:a moment a day

By freshphoto

What's on a man's mind

Another Friday night and I ain't got nobody...

...I've got no money 'cause I ain't been paid.
Another busy day in what has been a hectic, stressy and tiring week - the joys of self-employment.

The interesting side-effect is that I have been out "doing a wingpig", taking images much later in the day than I would normally. Yesterday found me lying in a back street taking shots of dandelion seedheads by bingolight - but that's the kind of thing where you had to be there to get the full effect: the sound of the bingo caller's numbers wafting down around the sodium glow of the streetlight behind the British Legion, with old furniture making crucifix silhouettes in the church-like windows of the Club.

There is something very special about twilight, and I think it's sorely under-utilised in Scotland. The French, the Greeks and the Spanish all know the magical effects of being outside and letting the evening enfold your senses.

Here in the bonny Borders though, everyone seemed intent on getting blootered in the pub, and the raucous crowd of revellers celebrating someone's big 4-0 made for a good photo through the old-fashioned window.

Couldn't resist the hump sign outside the Baptist Church though. Hey, life isn't always deep and meaningful ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.