Backblip: Trip to Fountains Abbey

What a super day I had yesterday (ie 15th October)! A pal from the camera club invited a couple of us to join him on a trip to Fountains Abbey in North Yorkshire (and he even volunteered to drive). We were prompted to go because they're illuminating the abbey on weekend evenings this month, but in fact we spent most of the day there. My blip is late as it's taken me a long time to go through and edit the many photos I took (and, of course, to delete lots of them!).

My main blip and most of the extras are, of course, of the abbey after dark, one of them showing the crowds in the cellarium awaiting a performance by a local choir. You'll see that there's also a photo in the extras of a rather sweet little doe in the adjacent deer park, and the final extra is a group of geese which happened to fly overhead, with one seeming to be saying, "Wait for me, I'm trying to catch up"!

The weather was interesting. We arrived about noon in bright sunshine but by the time the illuminations began it was pouring with rain! Keeping water off the camera lens wasn't easy even using my big lens hood!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.