Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Last leg

Tonight I feel I'm on my last legs after a day that began at 5am in the hotel at Gatwick - though that in fact didn't feel as bad as it might have because we've been waking at 6am in Puglia to give us time to come to with tea and with the hour's difference in time this just felt the same. Gatwick this morning was as nightmarish as Glasgow was last weekend and for the same reason - the start of school holidays. Not having had time for breakfast in the hotel, we squashed briefly into Starbucks for coffee and a bun before charging through miles of corridors to our departure gate. 

It seems to me, by the way, that there are far fewer BA flights to and from Glasgow these days - that's the second time we've had to use Easy Jet for this bit of our travels. Happily I'd paid for Speedy Boarding; really worth it not to have to fret about the size of my rucksack as well as getting on without hanging about.

Anyway, we were home by midday, washing on and out in the sunny-but-perishing garden before we had some lunch. The house feels woefully cold, though we've probably used up the kids' inheritance in an attempt to remedy this. I'm going to have to scald myself pink in a bath to make getting into bed remotely agreeable; there's no time to change our duvet to the winter one until after our family has been and gone. Maybe add a fleecy dressing gown on top.

Blipping the sunrise over our waiting plane as we marched out across the tarmac. Ah, the romance of travel ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.