Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Out of the rectangular window ...

I know. You've seen my early (or not-so-early) morning view before. But it's this or nothing, for I took no more photos all day, and besides, it's the only moment when the view looked at all appealing. That blink of sun soon vanished, and the weather declined into strong winds and battering showers. Just  perfect weather to come home to ...

I've worked like a mad thing all day. Himself has worked like a mad thing all day. There is still damp washing festooned about the place, because so much of the tech clothing we like to take on holiday bears warnings not to tumble dry; they hang on hangers from the loft ladder, on the guest towel rail ... And tomorrow we have family coming, so this can't go on. They will be occupying the drying spaces.

I also had to go shopping on a Monday morning. Morrison's was more crowded than I'm used to, and the shelves were barer, as though the Harpies had descended. I have bought at least one staple item in a brand I've never heard of, let alone seen. But I managed to find the last, over-sized courgette, and a taller friend spotted the bagels I was looking for while I chatted to his wife. I spent a great deal of money and could barely lift the biggest bag into the car boot. I'm now beginning to feel I've been doing press-ups. (And that's another thing - I didn't have time to go to Pilates, so I've missed three weeks in a row.)

That was my only outing. I've ironed, tidied and dusted my desk, made a loaf for the morning, and I've just succumbed and bought myself a lightweight parka like one a new friend on the holiday was wearing. Eventually I'll get round to catching up on you all; till then please forgive my lack of attention and my scampered entries.

I'll be back ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.