RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Hard stuff

The concrete base goes in - known as an 'oversite' I think. This photo was taken over the garden wall by my neighbour while I was sweating over the details of the construction contract. 

Because the builders started work at very short notice in June, our agreement about what is to be done and how much I need to pay for it has been on the basis of a series of Letters of Intent - three so far. Now, mid-way through the work, the architect has sent me a draft contract. I've never been party to a construction contract before and I find it daunting. It's dated 7 October, but it includes everything done since 27 June. The builder's costings contain items that I will be paying for direct, not through him. Thankfully, Firstborn has a professional  knowledge of construction contracts and is advising me but it's ever so hard to know how to query things without losing the goodwill that has made things work well with the builder so far.

I just hope that we never need to use it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.