Mrs Evil Goat

By MrsEvilgoat

Drastic Haircut

Despite the fact that his summer coat is coming through, I decided to get Lime clipped today. I cant stand the endless months of moulting, coming home covered in hair and with the (hopefully) warm weather approaching he would sweat up quite a lot when ridden. I hate clipping. I REALLY hate it so I decided to pay someone else to do it, but it turned into a bit of an epic! I also decided since the weather is getting warmer to get a full clip - leg hair, beard trim, everything off, which meant we had to sedate Lime. He is fine to clip everywhere except under his chin and his legs.

When I got to the yard, Lime had found the only muddy patch in an otherwise dry field and got thick gloopy mud all over his legs. I swear he knew what was coming. So I had to wash his legs off, which meant they were still damp when we started clipping. The clippers overheated twice, blowing the fuse. The first time we spent 20 mins going round the yard trying to find a screwdriver and another fuse and then we had to keep stopping to let the clippers cool to try and stop it happening again. The second time we had to give up and borrow some clippers. By this time the sedative had started to wear off and as we had left his head till last, Lime decided he was having none of it. So I had to top him up and then wait an age for him to come round when it was all finished so I could turn him back out, all the time conscious of the fact Eva would be waiting at home for a feed. But all was well at home. I just didn't expect to be away all day!

So this is a before picture with a couple of after ones. Hes still quite dopey on the after ones but he looks lovely and smart. Bet he will be flying next time I ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.