Another day, another bench on a cliff.

An absolutely beautiful day here on the Lizard. Wall to wall sunshine.
Blue skies, a warm breeze and 17C.
The ocean running with light.
The view you can see is part of a walk we do from Lizard Point, the furthest South Westerly point in the British Isles, round past the Lizard Lighthouse, just about visible on top of the cliff.
Then round here to Housel Bay, where I sat once more listening to the sea, enchanted, as we sat on this bench for ages. Stephen then took the long way round back to Lizard Village as I walked back there up the lane which goes from Housel Bay Hotel.
(I’ll post a video on YouTube again for anyone who would like to see it, the link will be here.) https://youtu.be/zEWEzC03jdE
We took this summer’s dried rose petals this morning to drop in the deep rock fissure which is in the rocks below the lighthouse at the edge of the sea, where we poured Matt’s ashes 16 years ago last September.
It’s where I want to be, Stephen too.
A kind of
“In my end is my beginning…” to quote TS Eliot from “The Four Quartets.”
Although he may have borrowed the phrase…?
I watched a masterly moving performance of Ralph Fiennes reciting it, last night on BBC 4.
The most moving piece.
How on earth do they remember all those words!
It is much harder than Shakespeare I think.
Any academics of you out there have a view?
It has been the gift of a day, and to borrow another poet, my favourite Edward Thomas :
“I cannot bite the day to the core”.
So thankful for the sea air and sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.