Flossmo

By Flossmo

Pressed flower

I have been a keen family history researcher for many years. At the start of the pandemic I got back into the research and it kept me occupied for many hours. After a while, instead of researching backwards, I started tracing forwards to see if I could find any living relatives that might have family photographs or records. With one of the contacts I made I hit the jackpot, I found a third cousin who was the custodian of the family bibles. Another of my cousins, who happens to live in Farnham and who also works on family history, has been in possession of the bibles for the last few months and has been scanning all of the entries of birth dates. Today he called in and has left the bibles with me so that I can return them to their custodian when I head north on Friday. There really is something quite mystical about the books. We estimate that they are some 200 years old and just to see the names of our ancestors written in beautiful script is quite something. We were also surprised to find a pressed flower between the pages of one of the bibles. Where the flower came from, how old it is and why it's there is a mystery but it is a nice thing to have. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.