Living my dream

By Mima

Kakabeak

The kakabeak tree outside the truck is in full bloom. It may be a bit late this year, but it is stunning. 

Today is day two of the great sourdough challenge. Yesterday I fed the 'mother' and left it overnight to double in size. To my amazement it did precisely as it was meant to do. I never even achieved this step previously, so a brief jig was performed when I unveiled it.

This morning it was mixed with flour, warmed whey, salt and put into a bowl where I  'stretched'  it a few times and then left it to rise. 

The recommendation is to keep the dough at 40C and after racking my brains about how to do it, a friend suggested using a warmed wheat pack. So I wrapped the bowl in one that I bought a few years ago. I then popped it into an Esky / chilly bin and left it to get on with rising.

Which it did, beautifully. It is now having its final rise, this time in the fridge. I'm hoping it will continue to behave as it should, so that it will be ready to bake in the morning... 

Crossed fingers. 

Bean supervised.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.