Relay Day

It was Relay Day at the British Champs today and before my first leg run in the W50 class was called up I went to blip the elite women and men starting. There is always a plethora of cameras around when the elites are running and they don't take prisoners when the klaxon goes so seasoned blippers always find a tree to stand in front of! We weren't sure which direction they were going to head out in today as route choice is a big part of orienteering so having a sturdy tree was even more necessary. Martin here is blipping Sarah who is one of our best women orienteers. I thought it was interesting that several members of the pack in her start were watching where she would go as they opened their maps and orientated themselves. A significant number followed her out into the forest. I hope they were right to do so!

It hasn't been a good weekend for me. I ran out of steam two thirds of the way round, managed to finish and hand over to teammate Sue before flaking out. Big THANKYOU to Marcia for providing support, wafting and water till I felt right again. I think the hectic last three weeks came home to roost!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.