Done!

It was the final day of our orienteering weekend 'dahn Souf' today and we moved to Dorking to take part in the urban race around the town. It was a hot day for running so I took it easy after running out of steam yesterday. I enjoyed the run, didn't make any errors and I think I finished in 20th place. Which I reckon is in the first third of the results, so I'm happy with that. Tony was 36th in his class which is also pretty good as it is a popular class with lots of entrants. We wanted to set off home pretty smartish after the race so I didn't blip many orienteers, but I did like this one. The athlete is looking straight down at me in my position behind the finish line and he is also 'swiping' his touch free EMIT card past the finish control. This was a new system in use today, not one I am in favour of because you have to check your wristband for a flashing light which tells you the swiping has worked. The existing system uses a 'dibber' which you insert into a box which then emits a beep to tell you it has registered.

I think the blip captures how tough his run has been and I also like that the finish official is oblivious to his emotion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.