a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Misty Morning

When I woke this morning and peeped out under the bedroom blind, I realised that it was going to be a foggy morning.  I'd originally intended to get back into my nice warm comfortable bed, but the anticipation of a potential photo opportunity put paid to that.

One breakfast later, with the sun just starting to rise, I headed off to see what I could find.  I had hoped that, if I walked to the ridge past Longwood, I might get the chance to see Stantonbury Camp rising out of the mist, but there was insufficient temperature inversion to achieve that.  I did hold off returning until well past 9am, when the sun was getting reasonably high and the best of the golden light had gone, but it was not to be.

While I was waiting I did manage to get this shot of a lone tree that I have had my eye on for months now as a possible landscape opportunity.   Its quite close to some overhead cables so this morning's fog was a bit of a blessing as it nicely hides aspects of the landscape beyond that are a bit of a distraction.

I took a range of shots, but felt that this contra jour version brought out the mistiness the best.  When taking it I did think about a possible mono version, but in the end there was just about enough colour in the scene to make it work as it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.