Early winter sunrise

Sitting comfortably behind our thick curtains we now have no clue, if we omit to open them, that there might be a winter sunrise. I was alerted to this fact by seeing a photograph on Facebook, from someone who has just moved from a main door flat to a top floor flat in Marchmont and now has winter sunrises over the castle. Very nice.

Anyway, here's our first proper one of the year.

The rest can be seen here.

I made a pretty early escape from home for a route march to the Chrystal Macmillan Building for my 9am class. Four hours teaching today, but the upside is that I've done half the teaching (apart from dissertation supervisions) I have to do this semester (please bear in mind that my current job does not strictly require me to do any teaching). Anyway, it was a lovely walk up the hill, as witness the photos in the collage in the extras. Sadly, by the time I walked home, the best of the sunshine had gone, but there were marvellous views of Calton Hill, the Crags and out onto the Forth from the window of the fifth floor room I was teaching in this afternoon.

This evening we watched a 1998 Oscar Wilde biopic. I think I might have seen it before, but on the other hand...maybe not. Anyway, it was pretty good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.