The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Green shoots

The black Highlands sometimes have the feel of prehistoric megafauna, this one more so than most because of the lack of the diagnostic handlebar horns. It's hardly recognisable as a cow. Perhaps this photo gives us some insight into what our landscape was like when aurochs grazed and browsed before the coming of agriculture. The Highlands will graze where other more modern breeds would wither and starve. This one is browsing the new hawthorn leaves, and to get to them is negotiating a steep slope and low, dense blackthorn bushes. The blackthorns are having their brief and lovely annual flowering.

The photograph was taken first thing when it was still grey and drizzly as Gus and I walked over the Knott. I went home and went back to bed for a few hours. Both Wifie and I have been very off colour today, Wifie more than me. So I may be a little comment light this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.