The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Spiky

They grow up young these days. He's only just over a month old, and already he's wearing hair gel, just like a teenager.

It was a grey, wet start to the day. The recent pattern has been to start clear then, cloud up before 0800, but today it was the other way round. By the time I got home at eight, it was getting brighter.

When I came down to the kitchen this morning, Gus was in his bed but there was no sign of Bob the cat. Then I heard a faint, plaintive miaow. I opened the door to the cellar, and there he was at the top of the steps. We are not sure at what time he was shut in yesterday evening. Later in the day, it became clear that he had tried to find a way out. He had jumped onto a ledge, dislodging a pottery jug which had smashed on the concrete floor. Alas, the jug was one I had bought from the Skye pottery in 1985. And when Wifie was clearing up the damage, our vegetable soup was burning on the cooker. Oh, well.

A very early blip for me, tonight we are going to see Today's the Day singing in The Messiah in Kendal. The furry friends will be home alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.