Bismarckturm Landstuhl

I went for a walk in Landstuhl to see the Bismarck Tower (and collect more chestnuts). If you're interested, here's the history to the 240 Bismarck Towers all over Germany (and more countries).The towers were built between 1869 and 1934 and some 173 remain today.


The one in Landstuhl is located on the Kirchberg, has a total height of 19 meters (the platform at 18 meters) and was built 1899/1900.
This kind of tower was build 47 times and is called "Twiligt of the Gods - Götterdämmerung".

I was there around noon and it was still very misty and wet. I went up the  hill first and then 74 + 10 steps and stood on the platform. I'm not good with heights and it took a while before I could let go of the railing and got the camera out. The wind didn't make it any better.

Extra 1 is a close-up of the plaque in the front center of the tower.
Extras 2 and 3 are views from the platform into the Bruch and Landstuhl (in extra 3 at 9 o'clock you can see Ramstein Airport and at 3 o'clock in the misty treetops of the Sickinger Höhe the Heidenfelsen, where I've been yesterday, are hidden somewhere).
Extra 4 almost kept me from visiting the Bismarckturm. Every time this year I try a new path I seem to have obsticles in the way. But again I climbed over and around it (twice).

19:20; 15°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.