Die Heidenfelsen 2

Today I walked from Kindsbach to the Heidenfelsen.
I was last there in October 2020 and they have been blipped then.


I repeat more or less what I wrote 2 years ago:
The Heidenfelsen are two rocks of a former Roman temple, located in the woods between Kindsbach and Landstuhl next to a spring. They are the best preserved spring sanctuaries of Central Europe which are still on their original site. They date back to the second century A.D.

The main photo shows the left rock, which was already described in 1821.
The second extra shows the right rock and the spring. The Rock was discovered 1903 by students; it was turned around after the students discovered it. In 1907 leftovers of a temple were found.

It is difficult to interpret the figures on the rocks, as there are no written records concerning them. They probably represent Pagan deities and human sacrifice.

The legend says that the springwater was helpful in treating certain eye ailments. Today the spring water is led downhill in a wooden channel.

Down the hill once was a pottery. Several finds are in the Historic Museum in Speyer on display (on my list).

I added a few more extras. One shows one of the sandstone formations you can find here.
The last extra is the small path connecting Kindsbach and the Heidenfelsen. From Kindsbach it's a less than 2 km walk through the woods. On the path I collected chestnuts again, but did not find too many and only smaller ones.

I got wet on the way back, but luckily it didn't start pouring until I was in the car.

20:00; 18°C(!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.